Bohm elected new Democratic Party chair

Huntington County Democratic Party precinct officials recently elected Christine Bohm, by unanimous consent, as the next chair of the Huntington County Democratic Party. She will be filling the vacancy left by outgoing chair Gary Beatty.

Brian Humphries of Roanoke was elected by unanimous consent as vice chair. Humphries is replacing Patricia McCloskey who stepped down due to the opposite gender requirement for chair/vice chair per the Indiana Democratic Party rules.

McCloskey was elected by unanimous consent as treasurer, replacing Carolyn Smith who retired to spend more time with her grandchildren. Smith will remain as the Democratic Election Board member.
Bohm, Humphries and McCloskey will serve the remainder of the four-year term ending in 2021, at which point the Huntington County Democrats will again elect leadership.

“Citizens of the greater Fort Wayne area, the city and county of Huntington, and Indiana’s Third Congressional deserve elected leaders who fight for access to healthcare, an improved public education system and good jobs for all Hoosiers,” said Bohm.

“I am proud to have the trust of local leaders as we work to build an economy that benefits working-class people rather than the wealthy.”

Those wishing to follow the developments of the Huntington County Democrats may follow them at HuntingtonCountyDems.