Pair of referendum questions gives added spice to local Election Day

Election Day for the municipal election is Tuesday, Nov. 5.

The election is open to all registered voters in Huntington County. The two referendum questions posed by the Huntington County Community School Corporation (HCCSC) will appear on every voter’s ballot.

While voters residing in unincorporated Huntington County will only have the questions to vote on, voters residing within the corporate limits of Huntington, Roanoke, Andrews, Warren and Markle will also have municipal candidates on their ballot.

Voters may cast their ballot at one of six vote centers located throughout the county. Centers will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Vote centers are at:
Huntington County Courthouse, 201 N. Jefferson St., Huntington.
Huntington County Fairgrounds, Heritage Hall, 631 E. Taylor St., Huntington.
Parkview Huntington Family YMCA, 1160W-500N, Huntington.
First Church of the Nazarene, 1555 Flaxmill Rd., Huntington.
The Cottage Event Center, 9524 U.S.-24N, Roanoke.
Warren Church of Christ, 302 N. Wayne St., Warren.
Voting requires a state-issued photo ID. Any voter needing an ID can obtain one at the Huntington Bureau of Motor Vehicles branch, located at 2982 W. Park Drive.

Voters can preview their ballot by visiting, clicking on the link “Who’s on the ballot?” and entering their name, date of birth and county of residence.

The two HCCSC referendum questions pertain to proposed property tax increases that would fund improvements to Huntington North High School and provide funds for the compensation and retention of teachers, plus the hiring of additional school resource officers.

The first referendum question, known as the “Operating Question,” will appear on the ballot as:

“For the eight (8) calendar years immediately following the holding of the referendum, shall the Huntington County Community School Corporation impose a property tax rate that does not exceed six cents ($0.06) on each one hundred dollars ($100) of assessed valuation and that is in addition to all other property taxes imposed by the school corporation for the purpose of funding academic and educationally-related programs, managing class sizes, school safety initiatives, and attracting and retaining teachers?”

The second question, known as the “Construction Project Question,” is:
“Shall Huntington County Community School Corporation issue bonds or enter into a lease to finance the 2020 Safety, Security, Replacement, and Restoration Project, which includes the renovation of and improvements to Huntington North High School, and other related campus improvements, which is estimated to cost not more than $68,480,000 and is estimated to increase the property tax rate for debt service by a maximum of $0.3381 per $100 of assessed valuation?”

Both questions will be answered by a “Yes” or “No” response on the ballot.

In Huntington, the races for the mayor’s office and the 3rd District seat on the Huntington Common Council are contested. The mayor’s race is a three-candidate competition between Republican Larry Buzzard, independent Johnnie Hiles and independent Richard Strick. The council race is a four-man contest featuring independent Eric Bruce, independent Tony Hiles, Republican Jerry Meehan Jr. and Democrat Richard Douglas Mills.
In Roanoke, there are four candidates for three seats on the Roanoke Town Council and two candidates for the office of clerk-treasurer. The council race features independents Joan Abbott, David Meitzler, Pamala Parker and David Tucker. Abbott and Tucker are incumbents. The clerk-treasurer race is a contest between incumbent JoAnne Kirchner and Sarah Milton.

In Warren, four candidates are pursuing two seats on the Warren Town Council. Those hopefuls, all independents, are Julia Glessner, Ethan Stivers, Tavis Surfus and Michael Yoder. Glessner and Stivers are incumbents.

In Andrews, there are four candidates vying for three seats on the Andrews Town Council. Three of those candidates are Republicans, Laura Dillon, John Harshbarger and Roger Newsome Jr. The fourth candidate is a Democrat, Raymond Tackett. Harshbarger is an incumbent.

The following candidates are running unopposed in the election:

Clerk-Treasurer, City of Huntington
Christi McElhaney. *

Huntington Common Council, 1st District
Charles Chapman. *

Huntington Common Council, 2nd District
Paul Pike. *

Huntington Common Council, 4th District
David Funk. *

Huntington Common Council, 5th District
Joe Blomeke. *

Huntington Common Council, At-Large (vote for two)
Patrick “PJ” Felton.
Seth Marshall. *

Clerk-Treasurer, Town of Andrews
Laury Powell.

Markle Town Council (vote for two)
Matthew Doss. *
Nicolas Lund.

Clerk-Treasurer, Town of Warren
Marilyn Morrison. *
* – denotes incumbent.

For more information, contact Yvette Runkle, voter registration and election deputy, at 358-4820 or

Information is also available on Facebook at