Election Day for primary election just a day away

Election Day for the municipal primary election is Tuesday, May 7.

The only voters who will cast ballots are Republicans residing in Huntington and Andrews.

There will be no Democrat ballot as there was no opposition among the party’s candidates. Those hopefuls have advanced to the municipal election on Nov. 5.

Huntington and Andrews residents who are registered to vote may cast their ballots at one of four vote centers in the county. Each center will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Vote centers are:

• Huntington County Courthouse, 201 N. Jefferson St., Huntington.

• Parkview Huntington Family YMCA, 1160W-500N, Huntington.

• Huntington First Church of the Nazarene, 1555 Flaxmill Rd., Huntington.

• Heritage Hall, Huntington County Fairgrounds, 631 E. Taylor St., Huntington.

Voting requires a state-issued photo ID. Any voter needing an ID can acquire one at the Huntington Bureau of Motor Vehicles branch, located at 2982 W. Park Drive, Huntington.

In Huntington, there is a two-man race for the Republican nomination for mayor. Incumbent Brooks Fetters is seeking the chance to win a third term, but faces a challenge from Larry D. Buzzard, president of the Huntington County Commissioners.

Four candidates are vying for the GOP nominations for two at-large seats on the Huntington Common Council. Those hopefuls are Seth T. Marshall and Jack Slusser, both incumbents, and challengers Patrick “PJ” Felton and Brandon L. Whitesell.

The 2nd District seat on the council drew interest from two Republican candidates, with incumbent Paul L. Pike facing opposition from Paul Scalf. In the 4th District, incumbent David E. Funk is running against Rabih Ayoub.

In Andrews, four candidates are pursuing the GOP nominations for three seats on the Andrews Town Council. Incumbent John Harshbarger is joined in that race by Laura A. Dillon, Van Juillerat and Roger L. Newsome Jr.

The following candidates are running unopposed in the election:

Clerk-Treasurer, City of Huntington
Christi Scher McElhaney. *

City Common Council, 1st District
Charles “Charlie” Chapman. *

City Common Council, 3rd District
Richard Strick. *

City Common Council, 5th District
Joe Blomeke. *

Clerk-Treasurer, Town of Andrews
Laury L. Powell.

City Common Council, 3rd District
Richard Douglas Mills.

Andrews Town Council (3)
Raymond R. “Ray” Tackett.

For more information, call Pam Fowler, Huntington County voter registration and election deputy, at 358-4820, or visit Facebook.com/VoteCenter sOfHuntingtonCounty.

* - denotes incumbent.