Deadline for FSA election ballots is Dec. 7

The Farm Service Agency has mailed ballots for the 2009 FSA County Committee elections to eligible voters.
The deadline for eligible voters to return ballots to their local FSA offices is Dec. 7.

Ballots will be counted at the Huntington County FSA office at 2040 Riverfork Drive West in Huntington on Dec. 14 at 9:30 a.m.

FSA county committee members make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other important agricultural issues. Members serve three-year terms.

Nationwide, there are more than 7,800 farmers and ranchers serving on FSA county committees. Committees consist of three to five members who are elected by eligible local producers.

To be an eligible voter, farmers must participate or cooperate in FSA programs. A person who is not of legal voting age, but supervises and conducts the farming operations of an entire farm, can also vote.

Agricultural producers in each county submitted candidate names during the nomination period held last summer. This year LAA 1 (Warren, Dallas, Polk, and Wayne Townships) is up for election in Huntington County. The candidates are David E. Shane and Julie Richardson.

Eligible voters who do not receive ballots in the mail can obtain ballots at their local USDA Service Center. Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked no later than Dec. 7. Newly elected committee members and alternates take office Jan. 1, 2010.