LAC honors four Riverview students with awards

The LaFontaine Arts Council’s Artists of the Month for February from Riverview Middle School.
The LaFontaine Arts Council’s Artists of the Month for February from Riverview Middle School. Photo by Cindy Klepper.

Four Riverview Middle School students have been honored by the LaFontaine Arts Council as Artists of the Month.

Receiving the February honors are Larissa Johnson, Jordan Stanley, Emma Gordon and Maggie Winters.

Johnson, who was honored for her achievements in the field of communications, was nominated by Riverview teacher Tyler Oatess. Johnson has an outgoing personality both on camera and off, Oatess says. She also displays initiative, responsibility, cooperation and problem solving skills.

Johnson's parents are Joe and Kathy Stephan. She is in seventh grade.

Stanley was recognized for her achievements in choir by teacher Danielle Ellenburg. He has participated in Circle the State with Song, Ellenburg notes, and has earned three gold ratings the past three years at the ISSMA Solo and Ensemble Contest.

Stanley, an eighth-grader, is the son of Sean and Tammy Stanley.

Gordon was nominated by teacher James Court for her achievements in band. Gordon is an excellent clarinet player, Court says, and is a two-year member of the Three Rivers Honor band at Indiana-Purdue University, Fort Wayne. She is a member of the Riverview eighth grade band and Riverview Wind Ensemble and won three gold awards in this year's ISSMA Solo and Ensemble Contest. She is also a swim team member and honor roll student.

Gordon is in eighth grade and is the daughter of Bradley and Melissa Gordon.

Winters was nominated by teacher Christine Nicholson for her achievements in art. Nicholson cited Winters' tremendous talent and work ethic and says her self-portrait has been assessed at the 10th grade level.

Winters, a seventh-grader, is the daughter of Bruce and Marcella Winters.

Complete caption:
The LaFontaine Arts Council's Artists of the Month for February are Riverview Middle School students (front row, from left) Emma Gordon, Larissa Johnson, Maggie Winters and Jordan Stanley. Nominating teachers are (back row, from left) James Court, Tyler Oatess, Christine Nicholson and Danielle Ellenburg.