HU students earn collection of FW ADDY awards

Several students from Huntington University recently won honors at the Fort Wayne ADDY Awards on Saturday, Feb. 16.
Several students from Huntington University recently won honors at the Fort Wayne ADDY Awards on Saturday, Feb. 16. Photo provided.

Matt Twigg, a Huntington University senior from Huntington, partnered with fellow HU senior Yo han Lee to earn a gold award in the Fort Wayne ADDY Awards on Saturday, Feb. 16.

In all, digital media arts students earned 13 gold awards and eight silver awards in the annual creative advertising contest.

Twigg and Lee, a resident of Seoul, South Korea, earned their award in the Elements of Advertising - Visual, Animation or Special Effects category. Both are majoring in animation at HU, and their entry was titled "Flight."

Senior Tyler Johnson, an animation major from Maplewood, MN, won the People's Choice Award, along with the gold award, for "Epic Adventures of a Heroic Man." Johnson's entry was also in the Visual, Animation or Special Effects category.

The awards program, sponsored by the American Advertising Federation of Fort Wayne, recognizes creative excellence in advertising by students and area advertising and media professionals. Winning student entries can advance to regional and national competition.

All winning films and animations entered by HU students can be viewed online at

Other HU students earning ADDY awards were Lynn Morrow, a senior from Centervlle, two golds and a silver; Shanay Anderson, a senior from Baker City, OR, silver; Tyler Keff Beasley, a senior from Salem, VA, a gold and a silver; and Matt Nelson, a junior from Granger, a gold and a silver.

Also, Cara Bolley, a senior from Defiance, OH, and Mike Ackerman, a senior from Pioneer, OH, sharing a gold award; Anthony Frederick, a senior from Portage, three golds and two silvers; Alec Rosario, a student from Valparaiso, silver; and Matt Shouse, a freshman from Fairmount, silver.

Also, Jonathan Scales, a sophomore from Albuquerque, NM, and Luke Myers, a sophomore from Franklinville, NY, sharing a gold; Steven Sproul, a junior from Clarion, PA, two golds; and Ben Daron, a senior from Plymouth, OH, silver.

Two classes earned gold awards for their entries. They were the Animation II Class of 2009, directed by Steve Leeper, associate professor of digital media arts, and the Animation I Class of 2011, directed by Tyler Welker, a 2008 HU graduate and visiting instructor of digital media arts.

Welker also earned a gold award for his own entry. Ryan Paxton, a 2012 HU graduate from Cincinnati, OH, earned a silver award.

Complete caption: ADDY Award winners from Huntington University are (front row, from left) Steven Sproul, Lynn Morrow, Shanay Anderson, Mike Ackerman, Cara Bolley, Jonathan Scales and Anthony Frederick; and (back row from left) Chris Viel, Keff Beasley, Tyler Johnson, Yo han Lee and Matt Nelson.